Print this article
Facebook allows you to publish personal information, make friends, and upload photos and videos. If you decide that you no longer want to use Facebook, you can deactivate your account. Deactivating an account removes all of your information from the site. Your information is retained on the Facebook servers. When you reopen a deactivated account, all of your information is restored. If you want your information to be removed from the servers, you can submit a request to have it permanently deleted. You cannot reopen a permanently deleted account.
1 Navigate to the Facebook website at www.facebook.com in any Web browser.
2 Type the email address that you used for the deactivated account in the "Email" text box at the top of the page.
3 Type the password that you used for the deactivated account in the "Password" text box at the top of the page. If you have forgotten your password, click on the "Forgot your password?" link to reset it.
4 Click on the "Log In" button to log in to your account. Your profile information, friends, photos and information will be restored.
Tips & Warnings
You cannot restore an account if you have submitted a request to have the account permanently deleted.